Most charitable companies have members because of the requirements of the Companies Act 2006. As all academy trusts are set up as charitable companies, they too must have members. In effect, the members sign to say they wish to form a company.


The DfE state: ‘Charity Trustees means the directors of the Academy Trust, who are responsible for the general control and management of the administration of the Academy Trust’


Members play a limited but crucial role in safeguarding academy trust governance. While they must ensure they do not stray into undertaking the Academy Trustees' role, they should assure themselves that the governance of the trust is effective, that Academy Trustees are acting in accordance with the trust’s charitable object(s) and that they, the Members, use their powers to step in if governance is failing.


It is the trust board, not the members, who are the organisation’s key decision makers.


A Multi Academy Trust can have up to five Members and no less than three Members.

The current Members for ESPRIT are:




Mr Simon Atkins



Cllr Lilian Dodd



Mrs Alison Moore



Mr Stewart Bray


02.10.2023 Removed by special resolution

Mr Garry Cartlidge





ESPRIT Multi Academy Trust has a team of non-executive directors, also known as Trustees, whose combined skills offer a wealth of experience to support the Trust's activities.


The Trust plays several roles in the life of each of its academies, setting direction and working with the leadership team to ensure that each academy provides the best learning environment for its students. The Trust board is responsible for fostering progress in all areas of the academy’s' operation, promoting value for money and good use of public funds, and championing the schools in the wider community.


Our Trustees are successful and committed professionals and are chosen for their knowledge of business, finance, IT, HR and education.


The Trustees are responsible for the general control and management of the administration of the trust, and in accordance with the provisions set out in the articles of association and its funding agreement. The Trustees are legally responsible and accountable for all statutory functions, for the performance of all schools within the trust, and must approve a written scheme of delegation of financial powers that maintain robust internal control arrangements. In addition, it must carry out the three core governance functions:


  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos, and strategic direction.
  • Hold the executive to account for the educational performance of the trust’s schools and their pupils and the performance management of staff.
  • Oversee the financial performance of the trust and make sure its money is well spent.


The current Trustees of ESPRIT Multi Academy Trust are:



Date appointed

Mr. Paul Atkins (Chair)


Mr. Chris Derbyshire (Vice Chair)


Mrs Stephanie Moran (CEO)


Mr. Patrick Ralison


Mr Tom O'Sullivan


Mrs Sarah Davies


Mrs Lydia Lyons


Mr Jason Dillon



Executive team

Executive Team (CEO, CFO, & Principals) – manage the day-to-day business of the Trust in line with their job descriptions and trust policies. 


Academy Leadership Team (Principals & Vice Principals) – manage the day-to-day business of an individual academy under the oversight of the Executive Team with challenge and support from the Local Advisory Body.


The members of the executive team are:



Mrs Stephanie Moran

Chief Executive Officer

Mrs Marianne Vaughan

Chief Finance Officer

Mrs Yvonne Glaister


Mrs Shirley Carrigan



Trust Board sub committees

Trust boards may establish committees and may choose to delegate functions to them. Where the trust board does delegate functions, the trust board remains responsible and accountable for decisions made.


The Trust Board currently has the following sub committees:


Finance, Audit and Risk Committee (FAR)

The purpose of the FAR committee is to oversee the Trusts’ non-curriculum business operations including monitoring and scrutiny of financial budgeting and plans; annual programme of internal and external audits; estates and premises management; and health & safety, while ensuring that all operational and strategic risks are being addressed appropriately.  Full details of the FAR committee's terms of reference can be found in the Trust's Scheme of Delegation.


Challenge Committee

The purpose of the Challenge Committee is to oversee the Trusts’ teaching and learning operations, including the monitoring and scrutiny of curriculum targets; safeguarding; attendance and pastoral functions. Full details of the Challenge Committee's terms of reference can be found in the Trust's Scheme of Delegation


Pay & Remuneration Committee

The purpose of the Pay & Remuneration Committee is to agree and set the pay for Executives and staff with the Trusts, including the monitoring and scrutiny of any additional payments or out of scope salaries. Full details of the Pay & Remuneration Committee's terms of reference can be found in the Trust's Scheme of Delegation